Introducing My Youngest Blogging Companion

          I’ve told all of you guys a few times recently that I will be having other writers on the site… I believe it is beautiful to see different perspectives, especially on faith. In the quest to find the right people God has led me to a few people from completely different backgrounds and ages. We have a 16 year old high school student who has shown to be a young Timothy, and who’s innocence and idealistic nature might just inspire some solid thought to our adult denseness, and we have a man in his 60’s, who’s wisdom will cause you to think very much into the topics he will write about. There are several writers in between, but I thought I would introduce Shawty to ya first!

poster553752841

Greetings!


My name is Alan “Shawty” Garcia (“Shawty” is pronounced like “Shorty”), and I was just recently asked to write for Uriah Ministries. Of course, this being my very first exposure to the blogging side of the World Wide Web, this opportunity gave way to feelings of uncertainty, humility, and a few types of excitement. But with much prayer and consolation from God, I realized that this would be an awesome missions field for me.


A little bit about me: I am 16 years old and a junior at Mount-lake Terrace High School. Now, before you say anything, don’t let my age become a huge factor in how you view me. 1 Timothy 4:12 – “Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity.” This is a huge calling from Christ, because he’s asking us, as the young generation of this time, to be a Christ-like example in everything you do. I don’t know about you, but I’d rather be like Jesus than any superhero any day!


I’m basically an average teenager in a not-so average world. I love acting/movies and music (I’m in the vocal jazz choir, Drama Department,  and orchestra at my school), but I love ministry even more. I love my youth group, Alderwood Student Ministries, a.k.a ASM (http://www.asmstudents.com), and I play bass in its worship band.


Now, you’re probably wondering about my name. I’d like to think it was a Saul-On-The-Road-To-Damascus-Moment, but that’s just me. When I first joined ASM, there was no one else in 6th grade, so I hung out with the 7th graders. People started thinking I was in that grade, but I was younger, thus giving the impression I was short for my age. And the name Shawty was born.


I would just like to thank Tim Kurek for this wonderful chance. I definitely look forward to getting to know you all better as we go along, and I cannot wait to see what Christ has in store for me.
In Him,
Shawty 

~ by Tim Kurek on November 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
