Jesus, The Sopranos, and the Pharisees…

          I often picture Christianity like I picture the Sopranos, separate families working exclusively for the betterment of themselves and no one else. These “families” attempt to have their hands in every pocket, and even train soldiers, enforcers and capos for the purpose of more efficiently accomplishing these objectives, advancing the cause with the precision of a bullet. Sometimes I wonder which prominent evangelist I would liken to Tony Soprano, Pauly Walnuts, Chris, Adriana, and even Johnny Sack. The thing that scares me though is, in earnest, I would rather be a part of Tony’s family than most of the families within the church. Isn’t there something wrong with that?

          Tonight I found myself rather ganged up on by a group of ultra fundamentalist Christians, who decided that because I read Bell, Miller and generally believe in love and social justice, that my God is not the real God and that I am “going to hell”. They actually told me that if I didn’t repent of liking the heretics that I read, that I, Timothy Kurek, would burn in hell for an eternity. When This was said, it made me very angry. They were calling everything that God has taught me, that I have learned about Him, everything that the Spirit has taught me, a lie. In essence, everything that I am choosing to give my life to is a lie from Satan and I’m doomed.

          When I heard these words I felt like I had been marked, and the fundies were trying to make the hit. Why they would honestly believe these things is beyond me, but I just wanted to write this blog and say to everyone, GOD IS LOVE! I would die for those three words because they are a universal truth that no one can discredit. GOD IS LOVE! We make mistakes as human beings every day, but God still desires us. We sin regularly, but God still longs for us. We are His children, and He is patiently waiting for us. GOD IS LOVE!
          So back to the Sopranos comparison. I encourage everyone to cease these divisions within the church, and with people outside the church. We are all created in God’s image, whether we believe it or not, and we can all learn from each other. Use your God-given discernment and the lessons will come. Unite with mankind, for the betterment of mankind, and see how the world changes… GOD IS LOVE!

          And please, everyone, be weary of the wolves wrapped in sheep’s clothing, for they are the true heretics and blasphemers, the children of dissention, and the Pharisees of our day! Don’t let them discourage you. Work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, and learn how to make your relationship with the Lord, unique, passionate, and full based off of the individual traits He has created in you! And remember this, no matter what they label you, there is no label that can encompass the God you worship. You don’t have to fight back. Speak truth, walk humbly, and when all else fails, go to the mattresses!
~ by Tim Kurek on October 6, 2008.

4 Responses to “Jesus, The Sopranos, and the Pharisees…”

  1. I am a fundamentalist that loves you and knows I will see you in heaven with me someday. Some people are just deceived by the devil. I don’t agree with liberal Christian theology, but I agree that God is love, and I’ve read Blue Like Jazz, it was good. I’m not sure if I told you that yet. But, yeah, I did. One part in it where Donald is in the woods or something and he meets this hippie and stays with them for awhile. A pot smoking, free lovin hippie, but Donald learned a lot from them, and I think that was pretty cool. We can learn so much from so many people, and I think it’s about time all Christians everywhere got down to Biblical truth and unified instead of creating more divisions. God bless!

  2. Yet another well written blog post. Great job mister Tim.

  3. I’ve just learned to ignore “Christians” who tell me that God doesn’t love everybody. Shake the dust of your feet…

  4. Yeah… Been there, done that, got the tshirt. It’s sad…

Leave a Reply

 
