“Jesus Wants To Save Christians”- Rob Bell’s New Book Reviewed

          Okay so you know I’ve talked about Rob Bell’s new book before in recent blogs. Well it’s finally out and as soon as it was on the shelves I rushed out and picked it up. I found “Velvet Elvis” to be more dynamic and meaningful than “Sex God”. I don’t know why but it just resonated with me so much more. And, it was with the thought that this was another book that would leave me wanting another “Velvet Elvis” that I began reading.

          I can actually say that this book in my opinion was better than “Velvet Elvis”. For some reason it spoke to me more, left me wanting less, and brought full circle the thoughts from Bell’s first two books. And I like the color. Instead of being white, or pink… It was green. Not exactly a reason to buy the book, but it is true that we all do judge a book by its cover, according to our own preferences, etc…

          I highly encourage anyone to pick this book up and read it. No, you will not agree with everything he says, and yes you will question the “New Exodus” interpretation that he prominently displays in the first few chapters, but as things progress there are punchlines that will hit your soul square in the jaw, making you have to put down the book to contemplate what was just said.

         I am not someone that could be considered “emergent liberal” like Bell, but I am definitely on the emerging side of faith and believe that there is a way to do things better, a way to do faith better, a way to love more and honor God better, and a way to realize the universal truths of freedom, oneness with Christ, and truth that isn’t hindered by a tradition that is as outdated as the original DOS program would be for modern day computers. I pray that you will join me in this balanced paradigm, and that in that you will learn to access God in a way you may never have thought is possible.

          Also, it is not necessary, but I think it would add to your enjoyment of this book, if you have read Bell’s first two books. His style is simple, and the books are easy to read. Check them all out and read them with the eyes of Biblical truth and discernment. Like I said Bell has a lot of good thoughts, but some are out there. The first two are out in paperback, so it won’t hurt your wallet, and the new one is selling for $20 retail in most major bookstores.

          “There is a church not too far from us that recently added a $25 million addition to their building.
Our local newspaper ran a front-page story not too long ago about a study revealing that one in five people in our city lives in poverty. This is a book about those two numbers.”  –Back of book…

You can purchase the book here! http://www.amazon.com/Jesus-Wants-Save-Christians-Manifesto/dp/0310275024/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1223176150&sr=8-1

(P.S. I did not reveal much about the book’s contents here… I don’t want to give it away. Just check it out!)

~ by Tim Kurek on October 5, 2008.

One Response to ““Jesus Wants To Save Christians”- Rob Bell’s New Book Reviewed”

  1. thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

 
