Home…

          It has been a long time since I posted a blog on here and for good reason. I moved to Texas, moved back, and am now somewhat back in the swing of things at home…

          Home. It is such a beautiful concept, and an illusion that people will fight to the death for. I am writing this because I was only gone for 10 days, and something inside me craved home, like an addiction. I had to come back, and I don’t want to leave for a long time.

          So that leads me to the following questions… I hope you guys will humor me here and actually answer one or all of these for me.

-What does the word home mean to you?

-Is “home” an illusion or a profound truth?

-Is it physical, or spiritual?

-For those of us who profess Christ, whether we are church goers or not, do we really see Heaven as home and long for it like we would if we left our earthly home for a few weeks?

-Are Christians way too obsessed with Heaven that they almost forget about the kingdom of God around us?

-Where is home to you?

-Do we belong to our homes or do our homes belong to us?

          This is going to be a short blog… I don’t know if anyone will read or even comment, but these are some questions I would love some opinions on. So I simply ask, what is home to you?

(I will post another blog in the next few days, probably after my birthday on Friday the 6th)

~ by Tim Kurek on June 5, 2008.

5 Responses to “Home…”

  1. A man is walking on the highway
    A woman stares out at the sea
    And light is only now just breaking

    So we carry every sadness with us
    Every hour our hearts were broken
    Every night the fear and darkness
    Lay down with us

    But I am holding half an acre
    Torn from the map of Michigan
    I am carrying this scrap of paper

    That can crack the darkest sky wide open
    Every burden taken from me
    Every night my heart unfolding
    My home

    ~HEM

  2. Are Christians way too obsessed with Heaven that they almost forget about the kingdom of God around us?

    Emergent Diatribe.

    The “Kingdom of God” is probably one of the most taken out of context verses in the bible besides “Do not Judge” He is talking in reference to himself being on earth, not “Heaven” being on earth, this contradicts the entire book of Collassians and Ephesians which state that Earth is over.

  3. Marcus,

    Thanks for commenting with a predictably fundy answer… Why is it only that question you answer? Just curious… Anyways, Thanks for taking the time to comment!

  4. Happy Birthday.

  5. Happy Birthday, Tim.

Leave a Reply

 
