Funny little fundies…

          I think one of the things that sickens me most about certain groups underneath the “umbrella” of “Christianity” is the act of using the Bible to hurt other people. In my one semester at MTSU I have heard more stories and seen more pain coming from people who have been abused by other “believers” than ever before. What do these people tell me? The story is uniform. The Bible was shoved in their face and they were told they were unlovable and doomed to hell because of their sin. Granted sin separates us from God, but are we supposed to witness with hate?

         Tonight that fact hit home for me in a way I have yet to understand. I am still somewhat in shock to be honest. I went to a church, doing a favor for a friend by driving her to her church to fill in for the worship band’s absent guitar player, and meandered into the quaint, country, church building. It had a homey feeling to it and I was happy to be there. I love youth and I love seeing how they respond to the awesome truth of God’s love. But while there I had to make an important phone call rather suddenly. I left the building and my Bible on the pew where I was sitting thinking that no one would mess with it while I was away. When I got back I noticed a small blue sticky note attached to the front cover. Written on the front of the piece of paper was the scripture reference Romans 1:20-22…

         “Curious…” I thought to myself deciding not to check it out till after I got home. When I got home I read it and this is what it said.

          “For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse: Because that, when they knew God, they glorified him not as God, neither were thankful; but became vain in their imaginations, and their foolish heart was darkened. Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools…”

          It took me a few minutes to realize that someone in leadership had put this note on the front of my Bible… And for the life of me I can’t understand why they would do such a thing. Yes I have ear rings, yes I have spiked hair, and yes I use a different translation of the Bible than their sacred KJV… But is that right to leave such a reference on someones Bible, whom you don’t even know? I weep for the person who acted so ignorantly because the Bible says that the accuser of the brethren is Satan…

          So here are a few quick points I want to make on this blog for anyone that reads this…

  • If we are doing right, are broken to the Lord’s will, and are submitted to the callings we have been given in our lives, SATAN WILL ATTACK US!
  • Most Christians have only been taught how to throw verbal attacks… Doing so is easy. What is much more difficult is learning how to debate a topic in a mature and loving way, realizing that we are accountable for the words we are speaking and the way in which we are communicating them.
  • The KJV is NOT the best translation of scripture… It may be the most beautiful and poetic, but it is not even the best translation. The fundies who hold onto it and condemn other versions are misinformed.The first English language version of the full Bible was John Wycliffe’s translation of the Vulgate in 1384. Several other English versions followed, and the beloved King James version was published in 1611. The King James Version, itself, has been updated several times: in 1629, 1638, 1762, and 1769.For more information check the following link: http://www.twopaths.com/faq_kjv.htm.
  • Using scripture references massively out of context to condemn people is dangerous. We are not called to condemn, but to love. Christ is the ultimate judge because He is able to look on the heart and we are not.
  • Why can’t we all just get along??? Honestly? Are we really Christ followers? If we were would we waste so much time hating on people! STOP SIPPING ON THAT HATORADE AND GET TO WORK PREACHING THE ULTIMATE MESSAGE OF LOVE TO THE LOST!!!!!!!!
  • I just saved hundreds of dollars by switching to Geiko!….. Okay well I had another point but my train of thought derailed. So it must not have been that great.

          Anyways, just some thoughts. This was officially the first time I was so blatantly judged because of my appearance. I can’t wait for it to happen again! It fires me up and makes me talk to God so much more!!! God is awesome, all-powerful, and so loving that I can’t imagine serving any other God!

~ by Tim Kurek on March 27, 2008.

4 Responses to “Funny little fundies…”

  1. Wow. What a strange thing for someone to do.

  2. I am so sorry for the experience you have. Because all those experience we can have really bad thoughts about “Christians and Christianity”….just remember that we all are broke, imperfect, weak, and in the continuous road to find ourselves seeking more of God. Breath Him

  3. That’s sad. Though what’s really sad is the total misuse of Scripture. That verse has nothing to do with anything! I don’t know why they put that on your Bible because it doesn’t make sense, at least not to me.

    Just as they are close-minded and sometimes abrasive, I just hope we never do the same thing out of response to them.

    “Hatorade.” Haha. That’s great…

  4. Dude, that’s just weird. You must have ‘the look’.

Leave a Reply

 
