The Day I Killed Jesus

          It’s Easter morning, and I just watched the Passion of the Christ with a friend. The tears are still wet in my eyes… It makes this day not as much of a celebration for me, rather a solemn reminder that I killed Jesus.

           Most of you know that I am writing a book… I have been rather shy about sharing the title because I love it and didn’t want to put it out there till I had the copyright for it. Now I do. It’s fitting that I am announcing this on Easter- no other day would suit making this announcement. As many of you can guess, the title is my subject line. Here’s a little bit more info on this project that I have been working on.

“The Day I Killed Jesus:

Facing the Cross Unmasked In a Postmodern World” 

©Tim Kurek 2007

          The book will be a collection of memoir based essays recounting the spiritual pathways the Holy Spirit has taken me on, and all the memorable stops along the way. Hindsight is 20/20, and as I am writing this book I am learning that day by day! The book will be divided into three sections discussing our personal relationship with Jesus, the Body, and the Unsaved.  Please pray for me as I continue to work diligently on the manuscript and pray for the right publishing house to step up and support the project. I am utterly confidant that God has called me to write this book, but as I traverse this brand new world of writing as a profession, I am reminded of how everything that is good of me, is from God, and the rest is merely the pudgy white Kevin James look alike that is meandering through the highways of this vaporous life.

          As it stands right now, I have written 72,000 words… But writing is like working at a butcher shop, and the fat MUST be cut. I currently am satisfied with around 20,000 words as I have begun to re-write all four chapters that are completed.

          Update! David Hayward, otherwise known as the “Naked Pastor” will most likely be contributing several pertinent and humorous drawings to the book! We are in talks right now, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. His talent with creating simple, but powerful art has been a constant source of inspiration and fuel as I write, so working with him will be a dream come true. For more information on David check out his blogsite at:

http://nakedpastor.com/

me.jpg   me3.jpg   me2.jpg

~ by Tim Kurek on March 23, 2008.

2 Responses to “The Day I Killed Jesus”

  1. I really like the name. I really like it!

    Anyways. Congrats.

  2. Cool Name.

Leave a Reply

 
