To my brother…

          Right now I honestly don’t know what to write… I want to scream, I want to break down and I want to cry, all for the sake of the brother that sits to my right, at this very moment. If I could only have one iota of understanding of what to do or what to say, my heart would be at peace, but the words and the actions fail me. I sit in agony as I see my dearest brother mourning the loss of his father.

          It happened all so fast. Josh, David and I were standing on the porch enjoying a smoke and the camaraderie of fellowship amongst brothers, and then Josh’s cell rang. I stood, silent and motionless watching his face contort into a look of agony as tears broke through the veil of composure. It was a relative, calling to let him know that his father had very unexpectedly passed away, and Josh crumbled. I wrapped my arms around him instantly, his tears warm and wet against my shoulder, and I felt his joy evaporate. It was then I knew just how much I love Josh, our brotherhood and friendship giving me feelings of empathy the likes of which I had never felt. It was hell.

          After several phone calls and many tears later Josh and I are sitting in the living room speechless, listening to music and gathering our thoughts. He is working on a new song, one to honor his late father’s passing, and only God knows just how powerful this song will be.

           I’ve learned a few things tonight through the pain and through the tears, and would like to share them to remind everyone of some very simple truths that we take so much for granted.

          1. Life is but a vapor. You, or any one of your loved ones may lose their lives at any moment, and knowing that we are supposed to treasure life. Please, don’t for a second fall into the rut of “comfort” because there may not be a tomorrow for you or someone you love. Treat everyone as if you might never see them again, and give your all to show them just how much they mean to you.

          2. God works everything for good to those that love Him. This is a biblical promise that has proven to be more true than any other in my lifetime. It is too early to see just what good might come from this situation, but Josh loves the Lord and I know the Lord loves him. When something goes awry give glory to God because in all things He is faithful and loving, and present.

          3. Family, no matter how dysfunctional, are a gift from God. Josh and his father made peace after years of bitterness and estrangement, and it has made all the difference. He left things with an “I love you” and positive thoughts, and we should do the same if we need to. I Timothy talks a lot about family and how we are supposed to sacrifice if they are in need. Do that. Live to serve the flesh and blood that God has so generously given you.

          If you are reading this and still have your parents, take the time to tell them you love them in the next day or so. Let them know that you appreciate and respect them and mend the fence of your relationship if it is damaged. You never know how much time you may have.

To Josh,

I love you brother, but more importantly God loves you. Let Him wrap His arms around you and give you peace, and praise His name through the pain. You aren’t alone. Your family loves you, your friends love you, and I love you, but more important than all of us, your heavenly Father adores you. Run to Him and seek His face and He will bless you.

We have known each other for almost 5 years and in that time you have become my closest friend and most trusted adviser. God gave you to me and me to you for a reason and I want you to know that I would die for you without question. When you cry, I cry. When you feel pain, I share in that pain. I will ride for you for as long as I breathe and even though those words may be empty right now and won’t bring your dad back, I want you to know that I am here. I will suffer with you, cry with you and traverse this lonely road with you at all times. I am praying for you and I love you brother. If you need anything, ask and it will be yours.

Sincerely,

Tim Kurek

P.S. If you want to write Josh and send your condolences his e-mail is JoshSisson@JoshSisson.com

joshanddad.jpg
Rest In Peace Zach Sisson… I know Josh will always miss you.
…Thank you for giving me my best friend. I will always be in your debt.
~ by Tim Kurek on March 6, 2008.

One Response to “To my brother…”

  1. […] of Josh’s and wrote a beautiful tribute to him on his blog.  You can read it by clicking here. God bless you, […]

Leave a Reply

 
