Let’s Stop Being Idiots For Christ!

          Tonight has been a beautiful night, but then again today was also a beautiful day, so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.

          I’ve been reading this book called “UnChristian” and have found that I can only read it in small doses because it makes me depressed. I am reading all these statistics about how people outside our religion (ages 16-29) perceive our faith and it isn’t a good thing. My first instinct when I started reading it was to say “this isn’t accurate”, but then every experience I have had over the past few months has shown the data to be correct. It breaks my heart.

          When one enters the ministry, much like when they first get saved, they are stoked to go around and tell others about the truth of Jesus, but after several months and countless conversations the “passion” we feel is replaced by the understanding that we are in a war and the other side is working hard to defeat us. I don’t feel apathetic, but I do feel like I am standing at the bottom of a spiritual Mt. Everest, and it is a daunting spectacle we see before us. Reading this book and the reality it offers has doubled the size of the mountain ahead of me. I know my God is greater than any of these difficulties, but I have to write this and relate to all the Christians that read this blog the frustration I am feeling right now.

          So, I have compiled a list of do’s and do not’s that I hope will remind all of us of a few basic biblical truths, and will help some of us to make our pastors’ callings easier by not being counterproductive to the true faith that we (the ministers) are trying to advance. It is already difficult enough to have to deal with fighting the enemy and bringing the unsaved into a relational understanding of Jesus Christ without having to deal with the crap that our fellow “Christians” are doing to handicap us that much more. So please bear with me. This is a righteous anger that I believe all of us should have right now. If you don’t have it, read “UnChristian”!

          I will start with the Do not’s. Here are a few things that I hope we will learn, so that we are not being counterproductive to the faith that we claim to have.

          -Do NOT claim the name of Christ and then butcher that name by acting as godless as someone who is not living with the knowledge of the sacrifice of Jesus. It is our job to present Christ, through our lives, to those who don’t know Him. Sure, we are human, but we are supposed to emulate Jesus and that means we do our best to remain spotless in our daily walks. There is no excuse for living God on Sunday, but living Satan the other 6 days.  

          -Do NOT live ignorantly in your faith. Learn why you believe what you believe so you are not just spewing out a list of rules and laws that the Bible talks about. Remember the words of Paul to Timothy, in I Timothy 1:5-7, when Paul says “The aim of our charge is love that issues from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith. Certain persons, by swerving from these, have wandered away into vain discussion, desiring to be teachers of the law, without understanding either what they are saying or the things about which they make confident assertions.” Learn that our charge is first and foremost LOVE, and the rules are meaningless without the “why” behind them! Did you know that Christianity is looked at now more for what we are against, rather than the freedom of Jesus Christ?!?!?!?! THAT IS HORRIBLE! God loves us, SO much so that He gave His Son for us… Why aren’t we living passionately for Him? I mean what more could God have given us?!

          -Please stop hurting yourselves… “Do not forsake the assembling of yourselves together”. That means that we need to spend time with people that will sharpen us and help us to grow more in our walks with God, rather than enhancing our ties to the world. Please… PLEASE connect to the body and learn how to help aid in the cause that you claim to follow. Find a way to connect and serve because there is STRENGTH IN NUMBERS and the enemy wants to separate us from each other through apathy, disillusionment, and childish arguments.

          The Do’s are meant to help us remember where we came from, and what we are to live for.

           -DO love everyone you meet with the love of a God that would die for them on the cross!

          -DO live your life with the desire to show people that they are treasured and sought after by an amazing and mysterious God.

          -DO spend time in the word, so that the laws and lifestyle will make sense. By getting in the word we are allowing ourselves to be sanctified by it. II Cor. 3:18 says that by getting in the word we are transformed into the image of Christ. That is the image that we need to project to others, and that is the image that will be used by God for an authentic purpose.

           So I offer these words to all of you. Instead of sitting here and slamming the church, or sitting here and giving the statistics that I have been reading in this book, I just want to make it personal. By being counterproductive we are becoming the enemies of God, and by being productive we are becoming a conduit for God’s love. Search within yourself and answer these questions honestly…

          -Are you a hindrance or an active Christ follower?

          -Are you aiding in the cause you claim to follow, or are you a poser that is giving these “unchristians” this negative view of our faith?

          Our faith is about freedom and love, and I urge all of us to take off the masks of holiness we put on at church and honestly question where we are at in our walks. God bless…

~ by Tim Kurek on February 29, 2008.

2 Responses to “Let’s Stop Being Idiots For Christ!”

  1. […] lifestyles there, blaming 9/11 on things like legalized abortion and gay rights.  I was reading Tim Kurek’s blog today and he said that when he read the book, “I am reading all these statistics about how […]

  2. I believe the Lord Jesus Christ in His mercy toward me led me to this site especially as a newlywed and being “at war” with my husband for not attending church with me, etc…..I just may be a Pharisee cause I just may be holding Jesus at arms length with me and not even realizing it….Your opening remark, “I believe God is going to ask us one question when we get to heaven…Do you believe I loved you ?” That is pretty riveting ’cause I profess and confess it ALL THE TIME but do I really REALLY BELIEVE HIM….why have I been so judgmental and ugly inside for all these years…why have the closest people to me abhored my behavior????????Good questions to ask myself…not every school district as a job and not every person I try to be intimate with can be wrong….NOT EVERYONE FOR GOD’S SAKE…Please pray for me…..I am desperate to know the Love of God ….

Leave a Reply

 
