On Bended Knee…

          I have been reminded more than ever that it is easy to worship God when things are going well. I see His blessings, and have to stand in awe, and for brief moments in time I feel total clarity in the moment. I feel clarity about the path that I am on, and the future that He has for me.

          It is also in these moments of completeness and oneness with the Father, that the Enemy takes note, and like clockwork tries to trample in, trying to make confusing the path that God has just made straight. He throws things like finances, strained relationships, and guilt into our path and tries to make us deviate from our course to stop and tend to these “major issues”. All the while we are missing the point, that we have taken our eyes off of Christ and have put our eyes back on ourselves.

          Tonight is no exception. After a day of beautiful communion with the Lord, and tons of homework later, I am facing yet another financial bind. The first came when I didn’t get the loans I thought I was going to get for college, but the Lord came through. Now it’s my car. The people I bought it from, who are good people, are calling in the rest of the money I owe them in a time frame that I would be amazed if I could make. You see, the rest of my financial aid loans are waiting to be deposited into my account, but because my loan company sent me a form snail mail, I don’t know how long it will take to get the money. I have been begging and pleading with these people to give me the time until my loan comes, but they have refused, so now I face losing the ability to drive my car, which is the lifeblood and the workhorse of my life. I have until the end of this month to come up with $1,400 before they come and “take my plates”. But why am I saying all of this?

          A wise friend once told me not to worry about the things that we can’t control because we can’t control them. He also said not to worry about the things that we can control because we can control them. Right now, after all that God has done for me over the past few months I feel like I would be spitting in His face if I stopped to worry about these details. I won’t make that mistake again. I know the Lord is my Shepherd, and I SHALL NOT WANT! I know that He leads me beside STILL waters, and that my cup RUNNETH OVER! I will not bend knee to the enemy on this. God is our greatest benefactor and protector, and I ask in faith that all of you pray for me as I try to get this situation worked out. It is tough to be 21 and on my own, but then again I look at my step dad who has been on his own since he was 13 and I have to shake my head at how much of a doubter I have been. I know God will take care of me. He always has. And I trust it will work out for His glory above all else. I just have to keep in mind that God will provide and that I can’t give up or fret over earthly details. It is such a hard lesson to learn, but I know God will bless me in this.

          So, all of you who read this blog, please be praying for me in faith, that God will make a way clear and evident and that all of this drama will be put behind me so that I don’t have anything financial trying to distract me from the ministry He has called me to, and the people, my church family, that I so desperately love.

          I write this in faith, in the name of our most blessed Father and provider. A-men.

~ by Tim Kurek on February 18, 2008.

One Response to “On Bended Knee…”

  1. This is a great post.

    I will pray for you.

Leave a Reply

 
