Confessions of a runner…

Dearest Father God, I ask your forgiveness for the pride I have allowed to infiltrate my faith, and the judgements I have so carelessly cast towards members of your church. It is you who judges the heart, not me, and I pray that you will forgive me for focusing on the negatives of others instead of the positives of You, oh Holy God. Please use me and Uriah Ministries as You see fit Father, and use me as a conduit by which you pour out your love onto Your people. Thank you for the blessings you have given, the friends you have surrounded me with, who humble me day by day. May I walk worthily in your sight, and emulate Jesus with my daily life. Amen.

          When I started Uriah Ministries, I had the aim in mind to uplift the brotherhood of believers, not to criticize those with whom I don’t agree. And while I feel I have uplifted a lot of people with certain blogs, I know I have also attacked others, and for that I apologize. The Bible says that man looks on the outward appearance but God looks on the heart. I am obviously not God, so I can not judge, nor will I judge individuals in the future in such a forceful way because in the end I do not know anyone else’s heart and that disqualifies me from speaking against them so abrasively. I will stand true to the word of God, and I will judge the false doctrines of this world, but I know now that my job is to preach the grace, love, and mercy of God above all else, knowing that the Lord’s sacrifice for us is the most radical message that one can share.

          Over the past six months I have lived away from my friends, family, and home, and God has been there for me every step of the way. I have had victories, and defeats, but in both God showed His love and His perfect mercy. What an amazing God we serve! I have also been reminded during this time that I am in a race, not only for myself, but also for my brothers and sisters in Christ. Hebrews 12:1 says,

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us…”

          Many times along the track we will find others who have fallen, or have fatigued, and these people need our help. The Bible says we are to treat them with love, realizing that we could fall into the same traps. Also James 4:11 says this-

“Brothers, do not slander one another. Anyone who speaks against his brother or judges him speaks against the law and judges it.”

Thoughts on the race itself…

          I don’t like running… Any who know me, know that my natural desire would be to stay in one place and exercise my mind, rather than running outside and exercising my body. (I know this is wrong, and I am submitting this to God) But the Bible tells us we are in a spiritual race, and that is a race I can not avoid.

          We are always in this race, from the time we are born to the time we take our last breath, therefore there are a few simple truths one should keep in mind while running this spiritual race.

          Keep moving. When running the race it is important to know who we are running with. Up in front we have the runner “Good”, and behind us the enemy, “Bad”. If we stop moving we are by default moving backwards, for “Good” is still moving forward, and “Bad” is still behind us, catching up with every pace. To slow down or stop running altogether is to invite the enemy to overtake us, and that is not a wise course of action.         

          Don’t lose heart. No matter what obstacles stand in our way, we need to keep our eyes peeled on Christ, and focus on the “Good”. By doing this we are able to partition our mind against the enemy and are able to move that much farther ahead in the race.

          Don’t look back. To dwell on past failures and moments of faltering is to lose our stride. We are told that we run the race of the high calling, and that should take a precedent over any inward thinking. Everyone will stumble and fall on occasion, the important thing is not to allow ourselves to be burdened down by sin. A clear conscience and a truthful heart will set us free and give us a boost in the race.         

          So, in light of what the Holy Spirit has been pressing upon my heart, what are my new goals then for Uriah?

-To aid others in running the race.

-To continue running in my relationship with Christ.

-To show everyone the love of Christ, through the word.         

          In doing these things I believe I will be making fishers of men and will be fulfilling my task as a servant to God. I pray that the Lord will use me as I move forward in the race and that by pursuing what is good, my rough edges will be smoothed out in all of this!

          And to the brother that the Lord used to help set be back on the right path, I thank you for the truth you have spoken to me. Your constant friendship and acceptance has shown me the love of Christ and I hope that as iron sharpens iron, I will help to sharpen your countenance as well. Thanks Josh for the talk last night, I listened and was blessed. I will keep those blogs and thoughts on the site, but only to serve as a reminder that I am no better than those that I have sought to stand against. May God be blessed by these words.

~ by Tim Kurek on September 30, 2007.

16 Responses to “Confessions of a runner…”

  1. […] Bob Parks wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt-To continue running in my relationship with Christ. -To show everyone the love of Christ, through the word. In doing these things I believe I will be making fishers of men and will be fulfilling my task as a servant to God. … […]

  2. Amen. I hope we all remember.

    It’s very easy for me to look down on people who just don’t “get it”. Who seem to make Christianity look bad. But then I remember I was one of them, and heck, maybe it is I who am moving backwards. I have found the only way I can keep myself from being overly critical (which is very easy) is to pray for the people I criticize, to ask God how I may serve.

    It’s a hard type rope to walk – to challenge but not put people down. It’s very hard.

  3. My goals are to aid others in acceptance of individuals rights to their own choice of spirituality and religion in an atmosphere free from threat, violence, verbal attacks, and in a mood of calm.

    I will practice acts of kindness as often as I can, and by doing that, will respect myself and others more. We are all human, an share the same planet.

    You are Christian, I am Jewish, and nothing will ever change that. But, that is acceptable, because I am comfortable in my Jewishness.

  4. God bless you, Tim. It will be good to see you soon. There is no place like home.

  5. Hey bro. Good blog. I’m glad that our talk helped you. I thank you for giving ear to my advice. I truly felt the Lord trying to communicate His ideas through me, even though I stumbled through most of it! I have seen so much growth in you this last six months, and I am very proud of what God has done in your life. You’ve done a lot of maturing and changing since you’ve been gone. I pray that it continues and that you continue to learn from me and I from you as we both progress in learning from the Lord.

    To the future! To an awakening within the Body!
    -J

  6. As always, your blog post is full of truth and wisdom. This reflection should be a reminder to us all to resist making judgments, humble ourselves before God, and especially for me personally, to work towards positive progression through life; recognizing the negatives can be okay, but only when we are committed to solving the root of those problems in some way. I feel blessed to have known you, and know that with God by your side you will succeed in spreading His message to the countless souls in need of salvation. Great blog.

  7. Great blog, keep up the good work!

  8. I WOULD APPRECIATE IT MORE IF YOU CAN CITE LOADS MORE OF BIBLICAL VERSES TO SUBSTANTIATE YOUR “STORIES”. THE BIBLE TELLS US THAT CHRISTIANS MUST JUDGE WITH THE INSPIRATION OF THE HOLY SPIRIT.

    http://esoriano.wordpress.com/2007/10/06/to-judge-others-is-an-act-inspired-by-the-holy-spirit/

  9. The quote you cited on the other site, was a prayer… I am not going to write my prayer and in the middle of the prayer and give a million references. That prayer was between me and God, just like this blog.

  10. IF THATS THE CASE THAT THE QUOTE I CITED FROM YOU WAS IN FACT A PERSONAL PRAYER FROM YOU FOR GOD, WHY DO YOU KEEP DEFENDING WHAT YOU HAVE SAID IN IT ON THE OTHER SITE THAT YOU ARE MENTIONING? IF YOU WILL JUST CAREFULLY READ MY POST THERE I NEVER COMMENTED ON WHAT I QUOTED FROM YOU AND YET YOU JUST KEEP ON EXPLAINING YOURSELF FOR WHATEVER REASON I DONT KNOW.

  11. I appreciate your concern. Thank you for the thoughts.

  12. Quiel,

    Please stop yelling. It’s very annoying and disrespectful… either that or you haven’t properly explored the vast regions of your keyboard. No, I have no Bible verse to cite this, I’m very sorry. Blame it on the Catholic in me.

  13. I am apologizing for my words which may have offended you brother and i am so sorry.. I dont mean to yell at you nor to argue with you. Please forgive me brother maybe its the language barrier thats what because english is not my native tongue. With all humility and lowliness please accept my apologies and if you want I want us to be friends. Good luck Bro. Tim Kurek.

  14. Quiel,

    I am not offended. I appreciate your humility and of course am happy to accept your apology. Here is the deal, Christ showed love to everyone, including His enemies and that is what the Lord has broken me of. In my blog that you are refuting I was just saying that I had been prideful in my judgements and my heart was not completely right. It was wrong for me to judge with pride in my heart. Anyways, thank you for the humility. We are more than friends, we are brothers in Christ.

    tim

  15. […] was saddened to have read the blog of Brother Timothy Kurek entitled “Confession of a Runner” when he said that it is because of ‘pride’ that he criticized the wrongdoings of some pastors […]

  16. […] was saddened to have read the blog of Brother Timothy Kurek entitled “Confession of a Runner” when he said that it is because of ‘pride’ that he criticized the wrongdoings of some pastors […]

Leave a Reply

 
